iStock-957979984.jpg

THE REASONS
FOR ACTION

FINDINGS & CHALLENGES.

Nine variables regulate the stability of the planet. To ensure development and the survival of humanity, they must not be exceeded. In Switzerland and France, the situation is clear: the majority of the nine thresholds are in the red and, for our two countries, six planetary limits have now been exceeded.


Acting on the infringements and constraints imposed on the Rhône by giving the river the means to defend itself means respecting the 9 planetary limits and ensuring the living conditions of future generations.

 

⇾ 9 planetary boundaries :  Climate ChangeLoss of biosphere integrityNitrogen and phosphorus flows to the biosphere and oceans Land system changeFreshwater consumption and the global hydrological cycle Stratospheric ozone depletionOcean acidificationChemical pollution and the release of novel entitiesAtmospheric aerosol loading

Melting of glaciers

The Rhône glacier, the source of the river, can lose up to 10 cm of its thickness per day in summer. According to experts, it will have halved by 2030 and disappeared by 2100. ()

Water

pollution

Toxic discharges of waste water, phytosanitary products, medicines, heavy metals and micropollutants are discharged daily into the waters of the Rhône and endanger our health. The waters of the river are permanently threatened by the industrial activities of the hundreds of companies located on its banks and those of its tributaries, as well as by industrial agriculture and the development of the large surrounding conurbations. ()

Plastics

Among the waste that ends up in the Rhône, plastic is largely predominant (77%), whether in the form of micro-plastics or single-use plastics such as bags, bottles and packaging. Observations have shown that more than 8.5 tonnes of plastic are carried annually by the Rhône before ending up in the Mediterranean and that the damage caused to fauna, flora and our health is considerable. ()

Climate

change

Decrease in flow, rise in average temperature and increase in extreme natural events: these consequences of global climate change are already being observed in the waters of the Rhône. And degradation is to be expected. Already in 2017, the average flow of the river was 30% lower than in the previous 20 years. ((()

Water withdrawals

Levies for agriculture, energy production and industrial activities are expected to increase by 30% by 2060. Coupled with the decrease in flow due to climate change, these withdrawals will then exceed the capacity of the river, which will dry up. (()

Ecosystems & aquatic life

The fish and plants that make up the biodiversity of the Rhône are already seriously affected by electricity production, obstacles to migration due to artificial developments, the dumping of plastics and water pollution. ()

EUROPEAN RIVER.

The rules governing the protection, development and use of the Rhone are fragmented between a large number of legal instruments on either side of the border between Switzerland and France, and are thus highly complex.

 

The cross-border nature of the Rhône reinforces the need for the implementation of a new fundamental standard guaranteeing an immediate and effective response to the challenges facing the survival of the river.

 

«What the nature rights movement is demanding today is the ability to protect ecosystems in a preventive way. This is a revolutionary approach that establishes the principle of interdependence between systems and living species». ()

⇾ Valérie Cabanes, International lawyer, human rights defender and nature conservationist

JOIN US

Let's become the guardians of the Rhône RIVER

Contact us

Contact the association id·eau, sustainable imagination for fresh water, to find out more about our activities and news.

ADDRESS

PHONE

EMAIL

Association id·eau

Avenue William-Fraisse 10

1006 Lausanne  - Suisse

www.id-eau.org

+41 21 601 27 27

iStock-957979984.jpg

LES RAISONS
D'AGIR

CONSTATS & ENJEUX.

​Neuf variables régulent la stabilité de la planète. Pour assurer un développement et la survie de l’humanité, elles ne doivent pas être dépassées. En Suisse et en France, le constat est sans appel : la majorité des neuf seuils est dans le rouge et, pour nos deux pays, six limites planétaires sont aujourd’hui dépassées.

 

Agir sur les atteintes et les contraintes imposées au Rhône en donnant au fleuve des moyens de se défendre lui-même, c’est respecter les 9 limites planétaires et assurer les conditions de vie des générations futures.

9 limites planétaires :  Changement climatique • érosion de la biodiversité • cycle du phosphore et de l’azote • usage des sols • utilisation de l’eau douce • diminution de la couche d’ozone • acidification des océans • pollution chimique • concentration des aérosols atmosphériques

Fonte des glaciers

Le glacier du Rhône, source du fleuve, peut perdre en été jusqu'à 10 cm d'épaisseur par jour. Selon les expert·e·s, il aura diminué de moitié d'ici à 2030 et disparu d’ici à 2100. ()

Pollution de l'eau

les rejets toxiques d'eaux usées, de produits phytosanitaires, de médicaments, de métaux lourds et de micropolluants se déversent quotidiennement dans les eaux du Rhône et mettent en danger notre santé. Les eaux du fleuve sont menacées en permanence par les activités industrielles des centaines d'entreprises implantées sur ses berges et celles de ses affluents ainsi que par l’agriculture industrielle et le développement des grandes agglomérations alentours. ()

Plastiques

Parmi les déchets qui aboutissent dans le Rhône, le plastique est largement prédominant (77%), que ce soit sous la forme de micro-plastiques ou de plastiques à usage unique comme les sacs, les bouteilles et les emballages. Des observations ont montré que plus de 8,5 tonnes de plastique sont charriées annuellement par le Rhône avant de finir dans la Méditerranée et que les dommages causés à la faune, à la flore et à notre santé sont considérables. ()

Changement climatique

Baisse du débit, hausse de la température moyenne et recrudescence d'évènements naturels extrêmes : ces conséquences du changement climatique global sont déjà constatées dans les eaux du Rhône. Et des dégradations sont à prévoir. En 2017 déjà, le débit moyen du fleuve était inférieur de 30% à celui des 20 années précédentes. ((()

Prélèvements d'eau

Les prélèvements pour l’agriculture, la production d’énergie et les activités industrielles, devraient augmenter de 30% d'ici à 2060. Couplés à la baisse du débit lié au changement climatique, ces prélèvements dépasseront alors la capacité du fleuve, qui sera asséché. (()

Ecosystèmes & vie aquatique

Les poissons et végétaux qui constituent la biodiversité du Rhône sont déjà gravement affectés par la production d’électricité, les obstacles à la migration dus aux aménagements artificiels, le déversement de plastiques et la pollution de l’eau. ()

FLEUVE EUROPEEN.

Les règles de protection, d’aménagement et d’utilisation du Rhône sont fragmentées entre un grand nombre d’instruments juridiques de part et d’autre de la frontière entre la Suisse et la France, et sont ainsi d’une grande complexité.

 

Le caractère transfrontalier du Rhône renforce la nécessité d’une mise en œuvre d’une nouvelle norme fondamentale garantissant une réponse immédiate et efficace aux défis auxquels la survie du fleuve est confrontée

« Ce que revendique aujourd’hui le mouvement en faveur des droits de la Nature, c’est de pouvoir protéger les écosystèmes de manière préventive. C’est une approche révolutionnaire qui pose le principe d’interdépendance entre les systèmes et les espèces vivantes ». ()

⇾ Valérie Cabanes, Juriste internationale, défenseuse des droits humains et de la nature

REJOIGNEZ NOUS!

Devenons les gardien·ne·s du Rhône

Nous contacter

Contactez l'association id·eau, imagination durable pour l'eau douce pour en savoir plus sur nos activités et notre actualité.

ADRESSE

TELEPHONE

EMAIL

Association id·eau

Avenue William-Fraisse 10

1006 Lausanne  - Suisse

www.id-eau.org

+41 21 601 27 27