DSC_3169.JPG

OUR 

APPROACH

CITIZEN MOBILIZATION.

Citizen, collective and transnational mobilisation.

Over the past fifteen years, numerous actions have been undertaken in some thirty countries to give legal status to natural elements to ensure their preservation. The laws that govern our societies do not take into account our interdependent links with our natural environment, with the ecosystems and species that allow life on Earth.

On this principle, the association id·eau, sustainable imagination for fresh water, supported by the signatories, invites you to join the «Appel du Rhône»

Recognising a legal personality for the river, from its glacier in Switzerland to its delta in France, means giving it the means to ensure its integrity and to protect itself against destructive activities.

 

L’Appel du Rhône : guaranteeing the safeguarding of our fundamental rights and the living conditions of future generations.

Because water has no borders and represents an essential and vital common, and because it is necessary to change the law to guarantee a healthy environment and stable climatic conditions :

RIGHTS OF NATURE.

RHÔNE RIVER, SUBJECT OF LAW.

Other international actions for the legal recognition of a river

 

Across the planet, in order to enable humanity to respond to ever more alarming ecological challenges, each year more and more ecosystems, animal and plant species have been endowed with legal personality aimed at protecting our vital resources from devastating threats.

Au cours des dix dernières années, plusieurs de ces actions ont déjà permis à des fleuves et cours d’eau de se voir attribuer un statut juridique, parmi lesquelles :

 

 The Vilcabamba River in Ecuador (2011)

⇾ The Atrato River in Colombia (2016)

 The Whanganui River in New Zealand (2017)

 

These decisions have had a decisive legal impact. In the case of New Zealand, the use of water, soil or trees must first take into account the needs of the communities and ecosystems concerned in order to guarantee the protection of the rights of the Whanganui River and the surrounding park. In Bangladesh, the Supreme Court in 2019 ordered the National River Protection Commission to act as the guardian of the Turag River, and the country's 450 rivers have been recognised as subjects of law.

A legal personality for the Rhône River

In most countries that have adopted treaties, charters, constitutional articles or laws related to the environment and climate, the legal texts concerned too rarely allow for binding application of their provisions. At most, in some cases, they admit a notion of financial compensation for damage suffered, and in no case a preventive, anticipatory and preservation action. If the damage caused is irreversible, it is too late to act.

 

The recognition of a legal personality and the rights that emanate from it would allow recourse to binding legal tools so that everyone can prevent or stop activities that could destroy or hinder the regeneration of the ecosystems and biodiversity of the Rhône and its tributaries, on which present and future generations depend.

 

Thus, while none of the national and international legal instruments have made it possible to stop or slow down the processes that have led to the global ecological disaster we are experiencing, the Rhone Appeal aims to give each and every one of us, individuals and communities concerned, the means to act to defend the rights and survival of the river.

Contact us

Contact the association id·eau, sustainable imagination for fresh water, to find out more about our activities and news.

ADDRESS

PHONE

EMAIL

Association id·eau

Avenue William-Fraisse 10

1006 Lausanne  - Suisse

www.id-eau.org

+41 21 601 27 27

DSC_3169.JPG

NOTRE 

DEMARCHE

MOBILISATION CITOYENNE.

Mobilisation citoyenne, collective et transnationale.

 

Depuis une quinzaine d’années, de nombreuses actions ont été engagées dans une trentaine de pays afin de faire reconnaître un statut juridique à des éléments naturels pour assurer leur préservation. Les textes de loi qui régissent nos sociétés ne tiennent en effet pas compte de nos liens d’interdépendance avec notre environnement naturel, avec les écosystèmes et les espèces qui permettent la vie sur Terre. 

 

Sur ce principe, l’association id·eau, imagination durable pour l’eau douce, soutenue par les signataires, vous invite à vous associer à l’Appel du Rhône

Reconnaître une personnalité juridique au fleuve, de son glacier en Suisse à son delta en France, c’est lui donner les moyens d’assurer son intégrité et de se prémunir contre des activités destructrices.

 

L’Appel du Rhône : garantir la sauvegarde de nos droits fondamentaux et les conditions d’existence des générations futures.

Parce que l’eau n’a pas de frontière et représente un commun essentiel et vital, et parce qu’il est nécessaire de faire évoluer le droit pour garantir un environnement sain et des conditions climatique stables :

DROITS DE LA NATURE.

FLEUVE RHÔNE, SUJET DE DROIT.

Autres actions de reconnaissance juridique d’un fleuve au niveau international

A travers la planète, pour permettre à l’humanité de répondre à des défis écologiques toujours plus alarmants, chaque année davantage d’écosystèmes, d’espèces animales ou végétales se sont vus dotés de la personnalité juridique visant à protéger nos ressources vitales des menaces dévastatrices.

 

Au cours des dix dernières années, plusieurs de ces actions ont déjà permis à des fleuves et cours d’eau de se voir attribuer un statut juridique, parmi lesquelles :

 

 La rivière Vilcabamba, en Equateur (2011)

⇾ Le fleuve Atrato, en Colombie (2016)

 Le fleuve Whanganui, en Nouvelle-Zélande (2017)

 

Ces décisions ont eu un impact légal décisif. Dans le cas de la Nouvelle-Zélande, l’utilisation de l’eau, des sols ou des arbres devra au préalable prendre en compte les besoins des communautés et des écosystèmes concernés afin de garantir la protection des droits du fleuve Whanganui et du parc environnant. Au Bangladesh, la Cour Suprême a ordonné en 2019 à la Commission nationale de protection des rivières de servir de gardienne de la rivière Turag, et les 450 cours d’eau du pays ont été reconnus sujets de droit.

Une personnalité juridique pour le Rhône

Dans la plupart des pays qui ont adopté des traités, chartes, articles constitutionnels ou lois liés à l’environnement et au climat, les textes juridiques concernés ne permettent que trop rarement une application contraignante de leurs dispositions. Tout au plus, dans certains cas, admettent-ils une notion de réparation financière de dommages subis, et en aucun cas une action préventive, d’anticipation et de préservation. Si les dommages causés sont irréversibles, il est trop tard pour agir.

 

La reconnaissance d’une personnalité juridique et des droits qui en émanent permettrait un recours à des outils légaux contraignants pour que tout un chacun puisse empêcher ou mettre un terme à des activités qui pourraient détruire ou entraver la régénération des écosystèmes et de la biodiversité du Rhône et de ses affluents, dont dépendent les générations actuelles et futures.

 

Ainsi, alors qu’aucun des instruments juridiques nationaux et internationaux n’a permis d’enrayer ou de ralentir les processus qui nous ont conduit à la catastrophe écologique globale que nous connaissons, l'Appel du Rhône vise à donner à chacune et chacun d’entre nous, individus et communautés concernés, les moyens d'agir pour défendre les droits et la survie du fleuve.

Nous contacter

Contactez l'association id·eau, imagination durable pour l'eau douce pour en savoir plus sur nos activités et notre actualité.

ADRESSE

TELEPHONE

EMAIL

Association id·eau

Avenue William-Fraisse 10

1006 Lausanne  - Suisse

www.id-eau.org

+41 21 601 27 27